skip to main content

A society dedicated to celebrating and promoting the 92 historic counties of the United Kingdom and the important part they play in our culture, heritage and geography.

County Profile for: 


Angus is a square-shaped county on the east coast of Scotland.

The main town is Dundee, which grew to wealth on jute manufacture, shipbuilding and whaling; all industries now lost to it. Now more diversified industry keeps it going.

Angus rises from the lowlands coast up to the mountains, amongst which are the isolated Braes O’ Angus, famed for their beauty. Angus can be divided into four parallel and very distinctive districts; in the north the Grampians, in the south the Sidlaw Hills, between them Strathmore, and the coastlands in the east.

The shire was also once known as Forfarshire from its county town, Forfar. Forfar was a royal residence for some centuries, and the place where Malcolm III granted new titles to his nobility (a scene Shakespeare portrayed, though he portrayed it on the bloody fields of Dunsinane in Perthshire).

County Facts

County Town: Forfar 

Main Towns: Forfar, Arbroath, Brechin, Carnoustie, Dundee, Fintry, Kirriemuir, Montrose.

Main Rivers: Isla, Esk.

Highlights: Glamis Castle; Championship Course, Carnoustie; Glen Esk; Glen Clova; J M Barrie Museum, Kirriemuir; Edzell Castle; Red Castle.

Highest Point: Glas Maol, 3502 feet.

Area: 889 sq miles

Flower: Alpine Catchfly

Contact Us • Terms & Conditions • M Fielding Design Copyright © 2011- The Association of British Counties.