skip to main content

A society dedicated to celebrating and promoting the 92 historic counties of the United Kingdom and the important part they play in our culture, heritage and geography.

County Profile for: 


Berwickshire is a lowland shire on the wild North Sea coast and the mountains of the Southern Uplands, along the border of England and Scotland.  The River Tweed forms its southern border with Northumberland.

Berwickshire can broadly be divided into three areas; the Merse being the fertile lands along the Tweed, Lauderdale in the westerly part is a dale which cuts into the Lammermuir Hills, where the River Leader runs, and finally Lammermuir, the high moorland hills separating Berwickshire from East Lothian. Lammermuir reaches 1,746 feet in Berwickshire, at Meikle Says Law on the border of East Lothian.

The Berwickshire economy is agricultural, and with Eyemouth and the coastal villages busy with fishing.

The town of Berwick, from which the county is named, might be claimed by Berwickshire but the town was sundered by force from its shire in the mediæval wars, leaving Berwickshire without its natural county town.

County Facts

County Town: Greenlaw

Main Towns: Coldstream, Duns, Eyemouth, Lauder.

Main Rivers: Tweed, Eye, Blackadder, Leader.

Highlights: Dryburgh Abbey; Eyemouth Museum; Mellerstain House; Thirlstane Castle.

Highest Point: Meikle Says Law shoulder, 1746 feet.

Area: 457 sq miles

Flower: Rock-rose

Contact Us • Terms & Conditions • M Fielding Design Copyright © 2011- The Association of British Counties.