skip to main content

A society dedicated to celebrating and promoting the 92 historic counties of the United Kingdom and the important part they play in our culture, heritage and geography.

County Profile for: 


Brecknockshire (Sir Frycheiniog), also known as Breconshire, is a mountainous, rural inland county, bounded to the north by Radnorshire, to the east by Herefordshire, to the south by Monmouthshire and Glamorgan, and to the west by Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire.

In the south, Brecknockshire stands at the heads of the Valleys. The Black Mountains occupy the southeast of the county, the Brecon Beacons the central region, Fforest Fawr the southwest and Mynydd Eppynt the north. Most of the Brecon Beacons National Park lies within Brecknockshire. The highest point is Pen-y-Fan (2,901 feet). This is popular rough hiking country.

The River Wye traces nearly the whole of Brecknock’s northern border, and the Usk flows in an easterly direction through the central valley. Of the many waterfalls in the county, Henrhyd Falls are particularly spectacular.

At the eastern border of the county is the book town Hay on Wye; a small town but with more second-hand bookshops than any other town in the world.

The most important industries are agriculture, forestry and tourism.

County Facts

County Town:  Brecon

Main Towns: Builth Wells, Cefn-Coed-y-Cymmer, Crickhowell, Hay-on-Wye, Llanwryd Wells, Ystradgynlais.

Main Rivers: Wye, Usk, Honddu, Irfon, Elan, Claerwen, Taff, Tawe.

Highlights: Brecon Beacons National Park; Bulwark and High Street, Brecon; Ffynnon Drewllyd (Stinking Spring), Llanwrtd Wells;

Bookshops & Castle, Hay-on-Wye.

Highest Point: Pen-y-Fan, 2901 feet.

Area: 743 sq miles

Flower: Cuckooflower

Contact Us • Terms & Conditions • M Fielding Design Copyright © 2011- The Association of British Counties.