skip to main content

A society dedicated to celebrating and promoting the 92 historic counties of the United Kingdom and the important part they play in our culture, heritage and geography.

County Profile for: 


Kincardineshire, which has also been named “the Mearns”, is a triangular shire on the North Sea coast, with its southwest border with Angus on the North Esk and its northern with Aberdeenshire on the River Dee. Parts of the City of Aberdeen trespass across the Dee into Kincardineshire.

The county consists of a mixture of cultivated land, woodland and moor, rising into the Grampian mountains. It naturally falls into four districts; the Grampian, the Dee-side, Howe o’ the Mearns, and the Coast-side. This is a strategic location too, for by Stonehaven, the county town, the mountains of the Mounth reach the sea, forming a barrier dividing the coast. The coast is notable for its seabirds, including Scotland’s only mainland gannet colony. Fishing and farming are the main industries.

County Facts

County Town: Stonehaven

Main Towns: Banchory, Fettercairn, Inverbervie, Kincardine, Laurencekirk, St Cyrus, Stonehaven.

Main Rivers: Dee, North Esk, Dye, Cowie.

Highlights: Dunnotar Castle; Howe of Mearns stone cirlce; Crathes Castle.

Highest Point: Mount Battock, 2,555 feet.

Area: 380 sq miles

County Flower: Clustered Bellflower

Contact Us • Terms & Conditions • M Fielding Design Copyright © 2011- The Association of British Counties.